Criminal Speeding.jpg

In Arizona, you can actually be charged with a crime for speeding. In the State of Arizona there are three different ways you can be charged for criminal speed.
1) Exceeding 85 miles per hour.
2) You can also be charged with criminal speed for exceeding the posted speed limit by more than 20miles per hour in a residential or business district.
3) Exceeding 35 miles per hour approaching a school crossing.
Criminal Speeding is officially referred to as Excessive Speed in the Arizona statutes. The crime of Excessive Speed is a class 3 misdemeanor in Arizona. For a class 3 misdemeanor you can be punished with up to 30 days of jail and fined up to $500.00. Additional surcharges can be added which almost double the base fine.Because it is a crime, there will be a State Prosecutor assigned to prosecute your case. If you miss a court date, the court will issue a warrant for your arrest. If you are interested in a more detailed definition and explanation of Criminal Speeding, call or contact a lawyer who is experienced with and handles this crime for a free consultation.